WHO-HD Earns 16 Eric Sevareid Awards for Journalism Excellence

WHO-HD Earns 16 Eric Sevareid Awards for Journalism Excellence

Station honored with 10 1st Place trophies and 6 Awards of Merit

Channel 13 News earns 1st place for Weather, Sports, Series, Investigation, Website and more

WHO-HD Weather Team earns 1st place for third straight year

April 11, 2016– WHO-HD was the big Iowa winner at this weekend’s Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association awards gala bringing home 16 Eric Sevareid Awards…the most of any station in Iowa..  The accolades included 10 First Place and 6 Awards of Merit in the Medium Market-Television category.  The awards were presented Saturday night in Bloomington, MN.

The Channel 13 Weather Team with Chief Meteorologist Ed Wilson and meteorologists Jeriann Ritter, Megan Salois, Brett McIntyre and Jennifer McDermed earned 1st place for weather excellence for the third straight year. And the Channel 13 Sports team with Sports Director Keith Murphy, John Sears and Michael Admire was honored with the 1st place Sportscast for the second consecutive year.

Other 1st place awards were earned in the categories of Series, Investigation, Hard Feature, Broadcast Writing, Reporting, Sports Reporting, Photojournalist and Website.

“I’m humbled by the quality of work the men and women of Channel 13 News continue to achieve,” said WHO-HD News Director Rod Peterson.  “Their hard work and dedication to excellence continues to be recognized not only by our incredible viewers but also by their peers.  I am proud to work with them every day.”

The entire list of awards, the recipients and links to their award-winning stories are below.


  • Weather Excellence
    Meteorologists Ed Wilson, Jeriann Ritter, Megan Salois, Brett McIntyre, Amber Alexander, Jennifer McDermed
  • Series
    The Wounds of War
    Lynn Melling, Reporter
    Randy Schumacher & Matt Van Winkle, Photojournalists
  • Investigation
    Hidden Agenda
    Aaron Brilbeck, Reporter
    Chris Jones, Photojournalist
  • Hard Feature
    The Day Brandon Disappeared
    Dan Winters, Reporter
    Brandon McCauley, Photojournalist
  • Broadcast Writing
    Andy Fales Covers Iowa
    Andy Fales, Reporter/Writer
  • General Reporting
    Justin Surrency, Reporter
    Travis Jungling, Photojournalist
  • Sportscast
    Keith Murphy, John Sears, Michael Admire
  • Sports Reporting
    Included at Last
    Andy Fales, Reporter
    Matt Van Winkle, Photojournalist
  • Photojournalism
    Eric Gooden
  • Website
    Aaron Hepker, Kelly Maricle, Nick Wilder
    Katlin McKinney, WHO-HD News Team


  • General Reporting
    Mr. Secretary
    Dave Price, Reporter
    Randy Schumacher, Photojournalist
  • Newscast
    Channel 13 News at 5
    Kelly Jellings, Producer
  • Series
    Madam Secretary
    Dave Price, Reporter
    Randy Schumacher, Photojournalist
  • Soft Feature
    A Natural Thing To Do
    Erin Kiernan, Reporter
    Randy Schumacher, Photojournalist
  • Sports Reporting
    Train To Inspire
    Erin Kiernan, Reporter
    Eric Gooden, Photojournalist
  • Talk/Public Affairs
    An Alternative For Autism
    Jannay Towne, Reporter
    Randy Schumacher, Photojournalist


For more information contact:
Tim Gardner, Director of Creative Services

About WHO-HD Channel 13
WHO-HD Channel 13, owned by Tribune Media Company, is celebrating 60 years of broadcast service to central Iowa.  Channel 13 News prides itself on bringing viewers rich, local content in total high definition.  From investigations to ground-breaking, creative coverage of the big daily story, more and more Iowans are choosing Channel 13 News.

WHO-HD continues to earn the most prestigious journalism awards in the broadcast industry.  In 2015, Channel 13 News earned 29 awards for Journalism Excellence…the most of any station in Iowa including:

  • 2 Emmy awards among 10 nominations from the Upper Midwest Chapter of the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences including 7 time winner Keith Murphy for Best Sports Anchor
  • 14 Eric Sevareid awards from the Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association (MBJA) including first place accolades for Best Weather and Sports
  • 1 Regional Edward R. Murrow award from the Radio Television Digital News Association  (RTDNA) for Best use of Sound/Video
  • 12 from the Iowa Broadcast News Association (IBNA) including first place nods for Weather Coverage, Best Sportscast and overall excellence in reporting

The technology leader, WHO-HD Channel 13 is now utilizing a powerful-new S-Band Doppler Radar that includes the most advanced technology available in Iowa.  In 2010, WHO-HD became the first commercial television station in Iowa to begin broadcasting all local programming in total high definition in 2010.  In addition, WHO-HD was the first station in Iowa to: utilize videotape, broadcast live from news events and protect with live Doppler radar.

About Tribune Media Company
Tribune Media Company (NYSE: TRCO) is home to a diverse portfolio of television and digital properties driven by quality news, entertainment and sports programming. Tribune Media is comprised of Tribune Broadcasting’s 42 owned or operated local television stations reaching more than 50 million households, national entertainment network WGN America, whose reach is approaching 80 million households, Tribune Studios, and Gracenote, one of the world’s leading sources of video, music and sports metadata, powering electronic program guides in televisions, automobiles and mobile devices. Tribune Media also includes Chicago’s WGN-AM and the national multicast networks Antenna TV and THIS TV. Additionally, the Company owns and manages a significant number of real estate properties across the U.S. and holds other strategic investments in media. For more information please visit www.tribunemedia.com.