FOX31 and Channel 2 Honored With National Headliner Award and 22 National Press Photographers Association Awards

FOX31 and Channel 2 Honored With National Headliner Award and 22 National Press Photographers Association Awards

April 13, 2016–FOX31 Denver, KDVR-TV, and Colorado’s Own Channel 2, KWGN-TV, received the prestigious National Headliner Award and 22 National Press Photographers Association (NPPA) Awards, including three first place honors.

Awarded Best Documentary from both the NPPA and National Headliner was “Masking the Pain,” a ground-breaking investigation into the widespread use of narcotics, numbing agents and other pain killing and anti-inflammatory injections inside college sports locker rooms. The investigation resulted in the National College Athletics Association (NCAA) cracking down on the use of painkillers with new rules and policy enforcement. Investigative Reporter Chris Halsne, Investigative Videographer/Editor Isaias Medina and Investigative Producer Chris Koeberl were all recognized for their work on the investigation.

“I couldn’t be more proud of our team for their hard work and dedication to excellence,” said Holly Gauntt, Vice President of News and Digital Content for KDVR and KWGN. “These awards are testament to what a truly great team can accomplish.”

Below is a list of all NPPA Awards KDVR and KWGN received:

1st Place – “Masking the Pain” Isaias Medina/KDVR

Team Entry:
Honorable Mention –  “Longs Way Up” Anne Herbst and Kent Erdahl/KDVR
Finalist – “Rough Rides” Isaias Medina, Noah Skinner, Chris Halsne, and Chris Koeberl/KDVR

Finalist -“Shadows of the 16th Street Mall” Michael Grady/KDVR

General News:
Finalist -“Brown Friday” Mike Grady/KDVR
Finalist – “One Big Mess” Mike Grady/KDVR

Finalist – “Field of Honor” Mike Grady/KDVR
Finalist – “I Had One Tarp” Angel Andres Rosado/KDVR
Finalist – “In His Shoes” Angel Andres Rosado/KDVR
Finalist – “Putting it Bluntly” Anne Herbst/KDVR

48 Hour Feature:
Finalist – “Just a Guy with a Sign” Michael Grady/KDVR
Finalist – “More Than Visual Beauty” Michael Grady/KDVR

Finalist – “Signing Broncos” Dave Althouse/KDVR
Finalist – “Fighting for a Cause” Dave Althouse/KDVR

General News Edit – Photographers Only
2nd Place – “What A Bear Does” Anne Herbst/KDVR

Feature Edit – Photographers Only
3rd Place – “Born To Do This” Anne Herbst/KDVR

Sports Edit
1st Place – “Chance On Ice” Anne Herbst/KDVR

Bumps/Tease/Pre-Show Edit
1st Place – “TekDry Special Open” Mike Horvath/KDVR-KWGN
3rd Place – “James Holmes Verdict Cold Open” Dave Boutin/KDVR
Honorable Mention – “Severe Weather Cold Open PKG” William Pelepchan/KDVR

The National Press Photographers Association is an organization dedicated to the advancement of visual journalism in all news media and works to promote its role as a vital public service.

The National Headliner Awards have been given out by the Press Club of Atlantic City since 1935. The program is one of the largest and oldest annual contests recognizing journalistic merit in the communications industry.


FOX31 Denver, KDVR-TV, and Colorado’s Own Channel 2, KWGN-TV, are owned by Tribune Media Company. Tribune Media Company (NYSE: TRCO) is home to a diverse portfolio of television and digital properties driven by quality news, entertainment and sports programming. Tribune Media is comprised of Tribune Broadcasting’s 42 owned or operated local television stations reaching more than 50 million households, national entertainment network WGN America, whose reach is approaching 80 million households, Tribune Studios, and Gracenote, one of the world’s leading sources of video, music and sports metadata, powering electronic program guides in televisions, automobiles and mobile devices. Tribune Media also includes Chicago’s WGN-AM and the national multicast networks Antenna TV and THIS TV. Additionally, the Company owns and manages a significant number of real estate properties across the U.S. and holds other strategic investments in media. For more information please visit

Maia Brusseau
Direct: 303.566.7522